New Seven Wonders of the World You Should Visit

New Seven Wonders of the World You Should Visit


We all have heard of the original Seven Wonders of the world, right? They have been the epitome of cultural and historic heritage for many of the countries who accommodated them. However, to this day only one, Great Pyramids, from the original list stand still, while all the others have obliterated and found its place only on the pages of history books. This is why, in 2000, Swiss foundation launched a global campaign to promote different cultural, architectural and aesthetical masterpieces and choose the new seven wonders of the world.

In this article we will briefly review them and give you some tips that you will find helpful if you want to visit them.


New Seven Wonders of the World

The list of the new wonders of the world has been created in 2000, after millions of people voted for their favorite landmarks all over the world. The competition was so high that some of the most picturesque and dazzling landmarks, like Athens Acropolis or Mont-Saint Michelle, didn’t make the shortlist.

Nevertheless, the list still looks impressive and serves as the bucket list for many of the travelers.


Great Wall of China

The Great Wall of China is a series of fortifications made of stone, brick, tamped earth, wood, and other materials. The wall stretches from east to west across the northern border of China.

The Great Wall was built in the 7th century BC during the Qin Dynasty to protect China from nomadic groups on horseback. The wall was built with watch towers and battlements. It has been rebuilt many times since then, but it still stands as one of the world’s largest building projects ever undertaken by humans. For many years there was a widespread superstition that it was the only building on the Earth that was visible from the Space. Despite these claims, today it is proved that this is not possible. However, this fact doesn’t take anything from the wall, who righteously takes its place as one of the wonders of the world.

The Great Wall is an important symbol for Chinese people. They see it as a great achievement that reflects their ancient civilization’s ability to organize and build despite long periods of division and war.


Chichén Itzá

Chichén Itzá is one of the most famous Mayan ruins in Mexico. It was built in the 9th century and is located on a peninsula in the Yucatán Peninsula.

While it is well-known for its impressive architecture, Chichén Itzá also has many other fascinating attractions to offer. These include plazas, ball courts, stairways, and temples that were all built using the Mayan architectural style.

The most important archaeological zones are grouped around two large plazas: the North Plaza and the South Plaza. The North Plaza is located on top of a low-lying hill and is dominated by three major structures: El Castillo (the Castle), El Palacio (the Palace), and La Iglesia (the Church). The South Plaza is located at ground level and contains many smaller structures such as temples and residential areas.



The ancient city of Petra was built by Nabataeans. They were an Arab people who lived in the region from around 500 BC to 100 AD. The Nabataeans were known for their wealth, that they obtained by exploiting a trade route that ran south from Damascus to Petra and then east across Arabia to India.

The ancient city that has been around for centuries is one of the most well-preserved cities in the world. From 2000, it is the member of the new seven wonders of the world.

Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu is a 15th century Inca citadel in Peru that served as the capital of the Inca Empire. Although, it also served as the estate of Pachacuti, the second Inca king.

Machu Picchu is a significant tourist destination in Peru and attracts more than 1.5 million visitors every year. The site became a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1983 and is one of South America’s most popular tourist attractions. Nevertheless, Machu Picchu has become an icon for all things ancient South American.


Christ the Redeemer

Christ the Redeemer is a statue located in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. It is made of reinforced concrete and stone and stands on Corcovado Mountain, overlooking the city.

Christ the Redeemer was designed by French sculptor Paul Landowski. In 1931, he created a plaster model for it that was displayed at the Municipal Museum of Rio de Janeiro. The idea for this statue came from a vision that he had in 1919 after seeing an angel carrying a cross on his back over the city from his apartment window.



The Colosseum, also known as the Flavian Amphitheatre, is one of the best-known structures in Rome. It was built by the emperor Vespasian and his son Titus in 72 AD.

The Colosseum is one of the most famous buildings in all of history. It is a structure that has been featured on countless documentaries and movies. However, it has not always been this way. In its early days, it was just an arena for gladiator fights and other events.

The Colosseum was once a place where people could come to watch bloodthirsty battles between animals and humans. The arena that could accommodate 50,000 people was one of the highlight of the city.

It is the only European landmark that made the shortlist. If you want to visit Rome to see the Colosseum and other medieval sightseeing, make sure to check out ETIAS website.


Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal is a white marble mausoleum on the southern bank of the Yamuna River in Agra. It was commissioned by Shah Jahan as a resting place for his wife Mumtaz Mahal and it took 22 years to build.

It is one of the most iconic buildings in the world and serves as the symbol of India. The mausoleum is UNESCO World Heritage Site. It’s also one of the most visited sites in India and attracts millions of tourists every year.



In this article we have presented the overview of new seven wonders of the world. Even though the competition was high and many of the historic and iconic landmarks were left out of the list, the ones that made it fully deserve to be in this list. Maybe the problem is in the number, so one solution can be to choose new seven wonders of the world in every 5 or 10 years? What do you think of this idea?


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

xxx lesbuanas military classified vids इंग्लिश चोदा चोदी फिल्म
izmir escort